South Devon Highway wins regional award

25th May, 2016
The South Devon Link Road project has been presented with another regional industry award at a ceremony held earlier this month.

The project was named as the South West Large Project of the Year at the Institute of Highway Engineers (IHE) South West awards. This category recognises the teamwork responsible for the delivery of a large project relating to a highway, traffic or transport related project.

Torbay Council collected the award on behalf of the project team, which also comprised Devon County Council, WSP|Parsons Brinckerhoff and contractor, Galliford Try.

The IHE is the one of the leading professional membership organisations for Highway Engineers across the country. These awards aim to promote professional excellence in engineering projects.

Now known as the South Devon Highway, the project is notching up a number of awards: this success comes after receiving a gold Considerate Constructors award, a regional Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation (CIHT) South West award and a gold Green Apple award for its environmental activities.

Gordon Oliver, Elected Mayor of Torbay said: “This is really good news: this award in particular celebrates the teamwork responsible for building the road. Working in partnership was such a vital part of this project, so winning this award is formal recognition of this approach.”

Councillor Andrew Leadbetter, Devon County Council Cabinet Member for Economy and Growth, said: “Winning industry awards is an important accolade, particularly in a project of this size and complexity. It shows that we are achieving excellence, displaying innovation and that we are exceeding industry standards, which is something we are very proud of.”

Chris Hastings, Project Director at Galliford Try, said: “We are particularly proud to have won this regional award, which celebrates how we worked together to create the South Devon Highway.”

The 5.5km dual carriageway provides the long awaited bypass for Kingskerswell and was officially opened by Roads Minister Andrew Jones in February.